Research Log of Web Science Students

Computer Science is not simply programming

what’s not to hate?

leave a comment »

I don’t know if this is a fortunate or unfortunate event. After trying to run the application for almost a week now, my database application finally worked. However, I still do not know what was wrong with the one I was trying to run for a week.

Here is the story of what happened. You decide if it’s a good thing or a bad thing.

Since the application wasn’t working on my laptop, I used our desktop computer. Still, the application wasn’t working. I studied the code piece per piece, line by line, and I still couldn’t find out what’s wrong. The program wasn’t even running. It kept saying “The application has stopped unexpectedly”. I was really, really close to burning my computer. I was about to give up, but I said to myself, “One last try before I light the match.” So I tried the same application again on my laptop. This time it worked. It was really, really, really irritating. I remembered our CS 192 days when we were developing a Ruby on Rails application. There were times when the database would work and there were times when it wouldn’t.

Written by janinaj

August 13, 2009 at 2:30 pm

Posted in BabyBook

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

