Research Log of Web Science Students

Computer Science is not simply programming

Hardware Issues

with one comment

I think I may have been spending too much time focusing on my virtualization of Ubuntu that I’ve used up all my time reconfiguring and not doing my supposed tasks this vacation.

So far. These are the things that I’ve done with my Macbook.

  • Reinstalled Ubuntu thrice on my Virtualbox. (Problems found : (a.) uvcvideo was already installed but it still can’t detect iSight Camera; modprobe -r uvcvideo returned pipeline null. no camera found. (b) Installed isight-firmware-tools, copied AppleVideoUSBSupport on /lib/firmware, typed ift-extract /lib/firmware/AppleVideoSupport in terminal then rebooted; no camera found; (c) tried to let Ubuntu automatically detect iSight and reinstalled cheese, camorama, and Ekiga; Returned errors: No camera found and cannot find device on /dev/video0)
  • Installed iSight driver on Windows XP but
  • Downloaded and Installed VMWare on Laptop, installed Ubuntu twice on it. Downloaded and installed all Package updates. Same procedures done with Virtualbox. (Problems found : (a.) uvcvideo was already installed but it still can’t detect iSight Camera; modprobe -r uvcvideo returned pipeline null. no camera found. (b) Installed isight-firmware-tools, copied AppleVideoUSBSupport on /lib/firmware, typed ift-extract /lib/firmware/AppleVideoSupport in terminal then rebooted; no camera found; (c) tried to let Ubuntu automatically detect iSight and reinstalled cheese, camorama, and Ekiga; Returned errors: No camera found and cannot find device on /dev/video0)

My other options include using my old Acer 4520 machine(which I’ve already tested on Windows and NyARtoolkit worked) and to reformat my Macbook and dual-boot with Ubuntu and MacOSx. I think it has virtualization issues that’s why I can’t connect with VMWare or Virtualbox.

I’ll be reformatting my laptop a little later so I’d be able to start my 3D modelling afterwards.

*edit*

Another option that I can do is to buy another webcam. Actually it’s the most feasible option I can think of right now. Costly yet might be effective. I’m still on the process of designing and finalizing my game board, however, my main priority is getting my hardware working..

Written by rururu

August 21, 2009 at 2:12 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Try Parallels Desktop – you may just have your luck with this. 😀

    rom

    August 21, 2009 at 11:43 am


Leave a Reply

