Research Log of Web Science Students

Computer Science is not simply programming

Java Brings The Emo Side

with 2 comments

Configuring a web app in Java is the headache. Essentially, I needed to have the Development Kit, the JRE, the app engine plugins, and libraries. And to start, I would need to specify the servlet properties in an XML file. And I have to deal with classpaths when coordinating with a co-developer. Whereas in PHP, I barely configure anything. Database properties, EasyPHP, and I’m all set. And you barely re-configure anything when a co-developer teams up with your code.

Well, like my partner said, it’s just a matter of interest.

I remember when I was very ecstatic about making this thesis. I would think of anything to make it kick-a**. Well, with Java, I’d still try to. But, my performance couldn’t be as superb as with what I can do in PHP.

Written by Paolo Sy

August 25, 2009 at 5:19 pm

Posted in Hardwire

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Re: Last sentence. Did you mean PHP? Hehe

    Dan

    August 26, 2009 at 5:01 am

  2. @Dan: Ay onga. Thanks for correcting. 🙂

    Paolo

    August 28, 2009 at 4:09 am


Leave a Reply

