Research Log of Web Science Students

Computer Science is not simply programming

Switching to JOGL

leave a comment »

Date: September 12, 2009

I was unable to port the Multiple Markers from JOGL to Java3D because I couldn’t find the errors to the code. It shows no errors when compiling and when running. The JMF Capture Device couldn’t be started and I was unable to find the root of the problem. I was advised by my sister that if there’s already a solution on multiple marker detection, I should use it instead of porting it. She said that it took them months trying to port their thesis from to . So I did what she told me as I only have a couple weeks left.

So I downloaded JOGL 1.1.1 from Kenai and used it on my VM. When I tested it, I kept getting errors like “glWindowPos2f is not available” or some random hardware errors. It messed up my JVM as I kept adding and deleting .dll files from the jre/bin folder. I kept deleting my j—-.dll files and before I knew what was happening, I deleted a random and vital dll file. @__@ After I uninstalled jdk and Netbeans from the Control Panel’s Add/Remove Programs, I couldn’t get my Netbeans 6.7.1 with jdk bundle to work. I had to rollback my VM.

Grar you, windows xp vm. @__@.

Written by rururu

September 12, 2009 at 10:52 am

Posted in Augmented Reality

Leave a Reply

