Research Log of Web Science Students

Computer Science is not simply programming

DroidDraw

leave a comment »

DroidDraw is a GUI editor for Android applications. You can drag and drop the views in the “screen”, and it will automatically set the location of your view according to the chosen layout. Once you’re satisfied with the screen interface, you can generate the XML code and copy or save it in a file. It is really easy to use. However, I would only recommend this to beginners. If you plan on being a longtime Android developer, it would be better to know how to edit the XML file yourself. This is because DroidDraw currently doesn’t support all layout attributes, therefore not really maximizing what Android has to offer. I think DroidDraw would be a good UI editor for Android, but it will definitely take a lot of time. Correct me if I’m wrong, but as far as I can see, only ONE person is managing the bugs.

I recently complained about DroidDraw not recognizing the layout_column attribute. When I was about to report the bug, I noticed I was not using the latest version. I downloaded the version, which was just released last August. I tried to load my code again (which was working perfectly in Eclipse), and it still wouldn’t work. It turns out that the layout_span attribute was the one not supported. According to DroidDraw, the bug was already fixed in 2007. Still, my XML file won’t load if I include the layout_span attribute.

Another thing about DroidDraw – the generated XML code looks different when I run it in an emulator. I don’t know if it’s a bug or anything, but I think someone has already reported it. Finally, when I was about to edit an XML file which has 2 layouts nested in the root layout, the 2 layouts overlap. I have a TableLayout on top of a LinearLayout.

It should look like this:

eclipse

However, it looks like this:

droiddraw

So I reported the bug to DroidDraw. Hopefully they will look into the issue, and provide a great solution 🙂

Written by janinaj

September 21, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Posted in BabyBook

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

