Research Log of Web Science Students

Computer Science is not simply programming

Never commit the .classpath

with 3 comments

Paolo has been muttering about how hard it is to develop in Java because we always had to point the imported libraries to what’s on his local development environment.

I also encountered the same problems when I was switching between programming in the Mac in school and then when I get home on my Windows machine.

This was bugging me. I didn’t have the same problem when I was working on a project at ONB. Well those guys knew better.
So well I threw my question at SO and found how stupid it was to commit the .classpath file.

Written by Jose Asuncion

October 4, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Posted in Hardwire

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The iMac has Java 6 – configure it to prioritize 6 over 5.

    rom

    October 4, 2009 at 10:34 pm

  2. Also, I mentioned that you need to reflect the exact same directory structure in all your machines if you want to be able to sync properly.

    rom

    October 5, 2009 at 6:00 am

  3. Already synched our directory structure just now. We broke the svn again today for some reason. So we made a fresh check-in and this time we made sure we have the same directory structure. 😀

    Jose Asuncion

    October 5, 2009 at 12:18 pm


Leave a Reply

