Research Log of Web Science Students

Computer Science is not simply programming

Renewed Focus

with one comment

For this Monday, here’s what we will do:

It’s remarkable to note that from this weekend’s coding I realized I still spend a lot of time thinking about how to write clean code rather than focusing on the problem I have — writing the code for the feature I have to develop. Sometimes I find myself trying to wear three hats at once (also known as multi-tasking) from coding to refactoring to planning for the problem at hand. But of course I know that’s impossible.

So I tried to do away with refactoring for a while and with much better results. I was able to plan for 10 minutes on how I’d go about coding a task and together with unit testing, I just wrote the code and made it work. Excepts for a few bouts of stupidity I was generally much happier. Refactoring came naturally after everything was working.

This week week we have a very bold plan with our Learn Module feature. And with so many options on how to do it (like here and here) despite narrowing down the solutions, I find myself itching to find the best solution. Well I thought after the scolding most of us got in our presentations today, the best thing to do is to make the feature work.

There’s a lot of time to pretty up next year. So for now, screw refactoring and screw clean code. Note to self: Just do it.

Written by Jose Asuncion

November 23, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Posted in Hardwire

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] For the simple reason that don’t I want our urls to look like http://hard-wire.appspot.com/app/dashboard I won’t use the Spring + Jersey solution. Also, I’ve noticed that having two “folders” such as /folder/folder in the url breaks our view layer. So no, I don’t want to deal with a minor issue like that anymore lest I lose focus. […]


Leave a Reply

